What not to do on vacation

So, last weekend we had a long weekend. It’s nice, getting to Sunday and knowing that I have another day of no alarm clock.

I went to visit my family in Chattanooga and loved every second of it. Unfortunately, there were things I should have done that I didn’t. I should have caught up on some backed up work for the newspaper (I’m the student newspaper editor). I should have gotten some homework done for this week. I should have organized my computer files to make my life easier.

Kassandra, my cousin, and me at the Parthenon in Nashville
Kassandra, my cousin, and I at the Parthenon in Nashville

Instead, I hung out and laid on the couch and did nothing.

And, as I look at my planner forlornly and scheme ways to persuade my professor for a deadline extension, here’s a list of what not to do on vacation.

DON’T sit around on your bum all day. A little couch potato time may feel nice for the moment, but you’ll regret it tomorrow.

DON’T eat like the there’s no tomorrow (because there is). It’s not that I ate so much, it’s what I ate so much of. And now, after a short jaunt at the gym that left me panting way too much, I’m regretting my food choices.

DON’T close your planner (or equivalent) and not open it at all. The unfortunate truth is that you probably have some upcoming deadlines that need some attention.

DON’T watch hours of TV on end. A great movie, an interesting TV show—this is what I live for on vacation. But, too much of it really just takes the creativity out of me and suddenly I’m left with a three page paper for which I have no creativity to write.

DO fill every moment you have with love and laughter and relaxing. Be organized, be conscious of your time, but it’s vacation! I regret the laziness and unintentional choices I make, but I cherish the memories.

These are the things I learned this weekend. What do you do on vacation that helps you rest yet keeps you focused?

Leave a Reply

