The aftermath

October 29, 2015. The date of my last blog published.

November 2, 2015. The day my grandfather was in a car accident. A young woman was driving drunk and drugged, coming home from a night of clubbing. A man was driving steady, going to pick up his truck for a day of work. She went the wrong way in the express way. Neither of them stood a chance.

November 11, 2015. The day a wonderful boy, Moses Arevalo, the brother of one of the best friends I could ever ask for, passed away in a car accident. Also the day my grandfather, after a long battle in the hospital, was declared brain dead.

November 12, 2015. The day I got on a plane out to Miami and cried next to four strangers, none of which patted me on the back, praise God. Also the day we gathered as a family in the hospital, laughing, crying, remembering, and preparing to let my grandfather go.

November 15, 2015. The funeral. We wore red, because he liked red and why the hell not. We closed the casket because it didn’t even look like him.

November 16, 2015. The day we began to let go.

Some bloggers blog their pain. Some people just need to talk it through, be heard, loved, understood. Held.

Others, prefer a quieter approach. Don’t ask, don’t tell, conceal, don’t reveal. Is it just me or is this starting to sound like Frozen?

For the past few months I haven’t been telling. I haven’t wanted to be asked. Doug has had to deal with random bursts of emotion, but he’s been wise about it. I cry, he puts his arm around me, we act like nothing weird is happening. It’s not that I’m not facing the problem, it’s just that I don’t know what to say to people.

But I’m back now. Ready to start talking again. I’ve missed you guys.

893101_10202043110271147_1642152480_o
My brother, grandparents, and me celebrating New Year’s in Dubai, 2014
2 thoughts on “The aftermath

  1. So beautiful. I couldn’t have said it any better. I know it’s been hard, but I’m very proud of the way you’re working through things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

